Search and view street plans of Ohio communities, produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company, between 1867-1970.
Sanborn Digital Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
These maps are heavily used in both public and academic libraries by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns and cities, and environmentalists concerned about impact of new developments.
OhioLINK users can connect to Sanborn maps using the links on this page. Other Ohio citizens can connect to Sanborn Maps through their public libraries' Web sites, or through OPLIN.
Search, browse, and download images of western art.
Saskia Art History Images is a collection of digital art images with a special emphasis on the core images required for teaching the history of Western Art. To view titles from textbooks follow the links below.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages
Stokstad's History of Art
Hartt's History of Italian Renaissance Art
Search select scholarly scientific articles. Also use to find all articles published by a specific author (aka cited reference search).
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Knowledge) provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately 5,900 of the world's leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Subjects covered include, but are not limited to: Agriculture. Astronomy. Biochemistry. Biology. Biotechnology. Chemistry. Computer science. Dentistry. Ecology. Engineering. Environmental sciences. Geography. Geology. Materials science. Mathematics. Medicine. Neuroscience. Oncology. Pediatrics. Pharmacology. Physics. Plant sciences. Psychiatry. Psychology. Veterinary sciences. Zoology. More subject categories.
ISI Citation Databases are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals. It is indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Because the information stored about each article includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography), you can also search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
Search, browse, and download digital media for the sciences, currently with collections related to agriculture, biology, and geology.
Science Digital Media contains digital videos and images related to the sciences:
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds (more...)
Dolphin Embryo digitized slides (more...)
Geology photos (more...)
Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection (more...)
Reproductive Physiology Animations (more...)
Search to find background information on a scienctific topic.
Science Online offers a comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines. Science Online offers these features:
Topics, Terms, and Principles: thousands of essays on major topics and issues in science and technology
Images, Videos, and Animations: diagrams, illustrations, images, videos and flash animations
Experiments and Activities: science experiments and activities covering key principles in science, indexed by grade range, subject category, and time required
Biographies: biographies of key scientists throughout history
Timeline: chronology of science history, organized by time period or scientific topic
National and State Science Education Standards: authoritative content tied directly to the curriculum
Search social work articles. Read articles you find by clicking Find It button.
Social Work Abstracts The Social Work Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource.
Search and read sociology and social issues articles.
SocINDEX provides full text of journal articles, and indexing and informative abstracts for "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, plus "priority" coverage journals and "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. SocINDEX with Full Text features subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX covers all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Search and read social behavior and structure articles.
The Sociological Collection is a comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 important journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 523 journals in the collection. Examples of titles offered in the Sociological Collection include: Addiction, Adolescence, American Journal of Sociology, Applied Psychology, Bioethics, Child & Family Social Work, Classical Philology, Ethnicity & Health, Feminist Studies, Journal of Social Behavior & Personality, Journal of Social Issues, Journal of Sociology & Social Welfare, Sociological Review, Sociological Theory, and many more. The majority of full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Search and read reproducible laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences.
The largest subscription-based electronic database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana’s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, SpringerProtocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. Written by renowned experts in the field with an emphasis on both comprehensiveness and ease of use, each protocol is organized in an easily reproducible recipe style, and offering helpful tricks of the trade in an invaluable “notes” section, SpringerProtocols is an invaluable resource for the modern research laboratory. All SpringerProtocols are written by experts in the field identified and reviewed by distinguished editors in their specific subject areas. Prior to publication each protocol is reviewed for clarity, accuracy, and consistency by the subject editor, a member of our prestigious editorial board, and Springer's in-house editorial staff.
Search philosophy encyclopedia to find background information.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy includes articles on people, concepts, books, and other topics in philosophy. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a dynamic reference work. Each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.