Use to find articles related to graphic design from the art perspective.
Full-text articles from an international array of peer-selected publications, as well as page images Coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art.
Full text of articles from more than 270 periodicals as far back as 1997. High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984, including 260 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracting of over 18,000 art dissertations.
Substantial coverage of journals indexed by the Bibliographic History of Art
Search art articles from 1928 to 1984. You may be able to read the articles in another database by using the Find It button.
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications. Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 features coverage English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins published in English, French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
use to find articles related to graphic design from the communication and mass media perspective.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
The following databases are not specific to art and design but still have excellent materials and information related to art and design research
Humanities International Complete provides indexing, abstracting, and full text of journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Produced by Whitston Publishing (an imprint of EBSCO Publishing), Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Humanities International Complete is a resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Search and read articles from all major academic areas of study.
Titles included in this collection are available from their first volume and issue. However, the most recent volumes published within the past 3 to 5 years are not available. Use the Journal Finder to access the current years for most JSTOR titles.
Art & Design Journals
The following journals are available in full-text online. Click on the links to browse or search within each journal or list of journals.