Skip to main content

Finding Primary Sources: African & African American

Introduction to primary sources and where to go to find them.

African and African-American Sources

African American History (Historical Text Archive)
A variety of sources are listed here, including: texts of important books and documents; biographical sketches of historical figures; bibliographies; mailing lists; bulletin boards; and many links to other internet sources.


African American History - About.com - Primary Text Index Writings and documents by and about African-Americans

Historical African American Newspapers Online:  This LibGuide produced by Elizabeth Clarke of Marist College provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google.

African-American Pamphlet Collection ( Library of Congress) This comprises the American Memory online collection of pamphlets entitled: From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909.   The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches.  Anotrher related American Memory pamphlet collection is  African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907.

Africans in America
This is an excellent site for resources and primary source materials. It is divided into four segments: The Terrible Transformation, 1450 - 1750; Revolution, 1750 - 1805; Brotherly Love, 1791 - 1831; and Judgment Day, 1831 - 1865

Anti-Slavery Literature Project  The goal of the Antislavery Literature Project is to increase public access to a body of literature crucial to understanding African American experience, US and hemispheric histories of slavery, and early human rights philosophies. These multilingual collections contribute to an educational consciousness of the role of many antislavery writers in creating contemporary concepts of freedom.

The Crisis, 1910 - 1922  Founded in 1910 as the house magazine of the NAACP and edited by W. E. B. Du Bois, The Crisis quickly became the most important voice of the African-American struggle for cultural identity and civic justice in the U.S.


From Slavery to Freedom: The African-American Pamphlet Collection, 1824-1909

Presents 397 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church
Terrell, and Booker T. Washington.


American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
From 1936 to 1938, over 2,300 former slaves from across the American South were interviewed by writers and journalists under the aegis of the Works Progress Administration. These former slaves, most born in the last years of the slave regime or during the Civil War, provided first-hand accounts of their experiences on plantations, in cities, and on small farms. This web site provides an opportunity to read a sample of these narratives, and to see some of the photographs taken at the time of the interviews. The entire collection of narratives can be found in George P. Rawick, ed., The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography (Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1972-79).


African-American Women: Online Archival Collections
A select collection of primary source materials from the Special Collections Department at Duke University.

Freedman's Bureau Online  Records and resources related to The Freedmen's Bureau ( officially: The Bureau of Refugees, Freedmen and Abandoned Lands


Malcolm X: A Research Site This is a comprehensive website on the life and legacy of Malcolm X.

Credit

This page is used with the permission of its creator, Ed Oetting from Arizona State University Libraries.