Skip to main content

Defiance College Archives: Home

Defiance College Archives

Defiance College Collections

  • 230+ Linear feet of processed papers and manuscripts
  • 48 linear feet of rare and other special collections books, searchable via the online catalog
  • Print copies of Master's Projects from graduate school programs
  • Administrative and departmental papers
  • Area newspaper articles on College history
  • Academic catalogs and Oraculum yearbooks
  • Over 17,000 slide and photographic images from DC history
  • College publications such as departmental newsletters, student newspapers, etc.

Selected documents have been digitized and are available via DC Memory:  http://memory.defiance.edu

We do not yet have finding aids, but in the meantime, here is a list of the processed materials by category.


Schauffler College Collections

Schauffler College was founded in Cleveland in 1886.  After it moved from Cleveland to Oberlin College and then closed in 1966, its assets, including archives, were transferred to Defiance College. Holdings:

  • approximately 13 linear feet of organized materials,  with more yet-unorganized documents, including student records, publications, and artifacts
  • some Schauffler College photos and documents such as Commencement programs, yearbooks, and periodicals have been digitized and are available on the Schauffler page on DC Memory

To view original and undigitized documents from either collection, contact Barb Sedlock (bsedlock@defiance.edu, 419-783.2487) for more information or to schedule research time.


Other Special Collection - Wiebe Ohio Courthouse Paintings

The library houses other pieces of DC history, including the Wiebe Ohio Courthouse Paintings. They were painted by emeritus faculty member Hermann Wiebe, and were exhibited at the State House in Columbus in 1991 under the title "The Way We Were."

The courthouses are depicted in historic settings, and Wiebe describes the collection as "an attempt to recapture the spirit of the last century."  The paintings were featured in a slide show during the Ohio County Courthouses Symposium held in Columbus in May 2014, and in a story on the Ohio Supreme Court's Court News Ohio webpage in January, 2016.


Deed of Gift & Collection Policy

Defiance College Archives collects material related to the history of Defiance College and the now closed Schauffler and Palmer Colleges as well as the Christian Biblical Institute. If you are looking to donate materials, please click on the PDF document below to read our Archives Donation Policy and the Deed of Gift Form. You may print and sign the Deed of Gift to accompany your donation.

Barb Sedlock

Barb Sedlock's picture
Barb Sedlock
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
419.783.2487

Images from the DC Archives

Defiance College Arch

UCC Interior

Eisenhower On Train

Huddle Up

Hot Air Balloons

Football

Blizzard!

DC Fountain

Looking for Mail

Eisenhower Setting Cornerstone

Weaving

Christmas

May Day

Basketball

Women's Volleyball

Archaeology Dig

Archives blog

Barb Sedlock maintains a blog with historical tidbits and stories from the Defiance College Archives.  Click on the link below to read her posts.

Digital Projects

Image result for MemoriesDC Memory

DC Memory is Defiance College's digital archive. It contains over 4,300 digitized documents from the Defiance College Archives, including:

  • all course catalogs
  • Oraculum yearbooks
  • student newspapers to spring 1991 (except for 1972-80, which are oversized)

 View the DC Memory search tips tab above for help in finding documents in this resource.

View a tutorial to help you find what you need in DC Memory:

DC Memory Overview

Electronic Education Masters Theses Collection

Electronic versions of Education Masters Theses written from 2003 to present are available on OhioLink's Electronic Theses and Dissertation Center. Click the link below to access this resource.

PILGRIM LIBRARY

DEFIANCE COLLEGE

201 College Pl. Defiance, OH 43512

[e:] library@defiance.edu

[p:] (419) 783-2481