The best way to access e-books, which Defiance College students, faculty and staff have a license to view, is through Jacket Search or the Library's catalog.
In the catalog:
When you try to access the ebooks from either method while off-campus, you will be asked to validate, using your name and barcode from your DC ID card.
If you prefer, you can access some ebook vendors directly without going through the catalog. The sections below are organized by ebook vendor and offer information specific to that vendor's products.
If you have questions or problems, contact a librarian via the chat box on the library's home page, contact a staff member directly from the list on this page, or call the main desk at 419-783-2481.
An online collection of approximately 4,300 books of high quality in the humanities – from the American Council of Learned Societies.
American and English Literature contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. It also contains 21 historic editions of the Bible in English, and different versions of Shakespeare.
Access through Defiance's catalog, or through OhioLink's Electronic Book Center
From EBSCOhost, this collection includes more than 150,000 ebooks from a broad spectrum of academic subjects.
Click here to jump directly to the EBSCO eBook Collection.
Printing: Pages – when viewing PDF, save then print limited number of pages, depending on publisher/title.
Simultaneous access: most books are unlimited; some may have more limited access, for example, one or four concurrent users. Check the detailed record for this information.
Capability to underline, annotate, etc.:
Create notes with free Ebsco account.
If saved pages are emailed to Kindle (and converted to Kindle format), options such as highlighting, notes, bookmarks are available.
A collection of titles from the sciences, social science, and humanities with publication dates from 2012-2014.
Click here to access: Wiley
Platform: will open in the Wiley Online Library on the Wiley website.
Printing: by chapter as PDF.
Simultaneous access: unlimited.
From Oxford University Press, Oxford Reference provides access to more than 250 reference sources, including encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide array of subjects.
Printing: individual entries.
Saving/downloading: individual entries to a My Work space with free personal account.
Simultaneous access: unlimited.
From Oxford University Press, Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to more than 11,000 titles from a wide range of subject areas.
Printing: individual chapters. Click on print icon, or View PDF.
Saving/downloading:
Individual chapters to My Work space (free personal account needed).
To save individual chapters to computer, click on View PDF.
Simultaneous access: unlimited.
A collection of titles in computer science, information technology and related fields. Be aware that the titles in this collection change frequently.
Click here to access. But, NOTE THESE INSTRUCTIONS:
This is the new Safari e-book platform and it requires all students and faculty/staff to create an account to access these e-books. Choose "Not listed" from the drop-down menu. That will take you to a screen that says to get access, enter your institutional email. Please enter your Defiance email and follow the prompts to set-up your account. From there, every time you access Safari, you will just have to sign-in using your Defiance email and the password you create during your account set-up.
A collection of thousands of scientific, technological, and medical titles.
Access directly through Springer Link
When browsing or searching, uncheck the box at top left: Include Preview-Only content. NOTE: as you browse or search, you may need to uncheck more than once.
The Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted. Click here to access.
In constructing this guide, a number of other library websites and guides were consulted. The list below is not necessarily comprehensive:
Barb Sedlock would like to thank the library staff at Bluffton University, who granted permission to adapt their guide originally created by Paul L. Weaver.