Pilgrim Library Home | Webmail | WebCT | OneStop | About Us | Get Help
Pilgrim Library Defiance College
Autism Studies

Databases

The following research databases can be used by anyone on-campus and by Defiance College students, faculty, and staff off-campus.

Academic Search Complete
Index and abstracts of articles from multi-disciplines focused on a wide range of aspects of autism. more information

CINAHL (Nursing, Allied Health, Consumer Health) Plus
Index and abstracts of articles that focus on autism from the nursing and allied health professions.. more information

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index and abstracts of articles that focus on communication, language, and speech issues related to autism. more information

Education Research Complete
Index and abstracts of articles that focus on the education related aspects of autistic children, adolescents, and young adults. more information

PsycINFO 1967-
Index and abstracts of articles that focus on the psychological aspects of autism. . more information

PubMed (MEDLINE)
Index and abstracts of articles that focus on medical aspects of autism. Using this link enables PubMed LinkOut to indicate if the article full-text is available in OhioLINK databases.

SocINDEX
Index and abstracts that focus on the sociological aspects of autism including social behavior and family interactions. more information

Databases available to all Ohio residents

The Ohio Public Library Information Network provides access to similar databases that can be used by any Ohio resident. The complete list of resources is available on the Ohio Web Library web site.

The All EBSCOhost Databases link will allow you to authenticate at home or workplace to search the databases. You don't need to be at a library or have a library card as long as you are accessing the database from a computer in Ohio. After authenticating you will be redirected to another screen. Click on the EBSCOhost Web link to choose a database to search.

  • Academic Search Premier will provide multi-disciplinary articles on autism
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic will include health related articles on autism
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection will provide psychological articles on autism
  • Sociological Collection will provide autism articles focusing on social behavior and interaction
  • Professional Development Collection will include articles dealing with autism in educational settings.

Books

Browse a title list of autism books owned by Pilgrim Library. Most of these books are shelved in the Hench Autism Resource Center located on the northeast side of the main entry floor.

Browse a title list of full-text autism books in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center. The full-text can be read by anyone on-campus and by Defiance College students, faculty, and staff off-campus.

Journals

Full text titles you can read online...

The following titles can be read by anyone on-campus and by Defiance College students, faculty, and staff off-campus.

Autism (1997 to present)
Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (2008 to present)
Focus on Autism and Other Developmental Disabilities (1996 to 2008)
Journal of Autism and Developmental Disorders (1979 to present)
Research in Autism Spectrum Disorders (2007 to present)

Autism Web Sites

Autism Society
A United States based grassroots organization.

Autism Ohio
A chapter of the Autism Society that acts as an information clearinghouse.

Autism Podcast
Listen to podcasts covering a wide range of topics related to autism. Click on the iTunes button under Podcast Feeds to subscribe and have recent and future podcasts automatically downloaded to iTunes and your iPod.

Autism Research Institute
Conducts research and disseminates results on the triggers of autism and on methods of diagnosing and treating autism.

Autism Speaks
"The nation's largest autism science and advocacy organization, dedicated to funding research into the causes, prevention, treatments and a cure for autism; increasing awareness of autism spectrum disorders; and advocating for the needs of individuals with autism and their families."

Healing Thresholds
"Provides layperson-accessible summaries of essentially all child-focused research from the last 3 years, in addition to earlier seminal papers."

Organization for Autism Research
Focused on the use of "applied science to answer questions that parents, families, individuals with autism, teachers and caregivers confront daily."