Databases
Biological Abstracts
Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research. more information
JSTOR
Search the full-text of articles from over 220 biology journal titles. JSTOR uses a 3-5 year "moving wall" of available content. This means that all articles from volume 1, issue 1 for a title will be available up to 3 or 5 years ago. Use the Journal Finder to determine if we have access to the most recent articles. more information
PubMed (MEDLINE)
Index and abstracts of journal articles in health sciences/medicine using the National Library of Medicine's PubMed search interface with LinkOut to OhioLINK full-text enabled.
AGRICOLA
Index and abstracts to articles on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, agricultural economics, human nutrition, and environmental sciences. more information
Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Web of Science)
Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences. more information
Digital Media Databases
Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics, Digital Animal Sounds
Audio clips of animal sounds. more information
The Complete Works of Charles Darwin
This digital library of Darwin's writings includes over 50,000 pages of text and 40,000 images of his manuscripts and published articles. more information
Dolphin Embryo Digitized Slides
Scanned images of histological sections of dolphin embryos. more information
NBII Digital Image Library
Digital image library of plant and animal species, scenic landscapes, wildlife management, and biological fieldwork maintained by the Center for Biological Informatics of the U.S. Geological Survey.
images.MD | off-campus access
Collection of 55,000+ medical images. more information
OAES Forestry Digital Photographs
Historic forestry photographs. more information
Reproductive Physiology Animations
Learning modules on human reproduction. more information
Reference Books
Electronic Titles
Click on a title to browse its table of contents or do a keyword search.
- Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
- Genetic Engineering: A Reference Handbook
- Genetic Engineering: A Reference Handbook Second Edition
- Human Evolution: A Guide to the Debates
- International Women in Science: A Biographical Dictionary to 1950
- Life on Earth: An Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution
Oxford Reference, Biological Sciences
Full text reference books on Biological Sciences. Titles include: A Dictionary of Biology, The Oxford Companion to the Body, A Dictionary of Ecology, A Dictionary of Plant Sciences, A Dictionary of Scientists, and A Dictionary of Zoology. more information
Science Online
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. more information
Print Titles
Concise Encyclopedia Biology (REF QH 302.5. A2213 1996)
Covers many important biological terms including those related to zoology, botany, biochemistry, molecular biology, and more.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics (REF QH332 .E52 2004)
Five-volume encyclopedia covering ethical dilemmas that arise in professional-patient relationships, public health, human reproduction, mental health, death, genetics, environment, and more. Articles are signed and include references to other relevant articles within the encyclopedia and bibliographies for further reading.
Journals
Library has a current print subscription to...
Nature v.189 (1961) to v.220 (1968); v.439 (2006) to present
Science v.120 (1954) to v.154 (1966); current 3 years
Full text titles you can read online..
Nature (1987 to 12 months ago)
Science (1997 to 5 years ago)
Browse additional titles in the Electronic Journal Center:
Agriculture title list
Biology title list
Botany title list
Cytology title list
Ecology title list
Evolution title list
Genetics title list
Microbiology title list
Reproduction title list
Zoology title list
Open Access Biology Journals
BioMed Central
Scholarly journals focused on the life sciences and biomedicine.
Public Library of Science
Scholarly journals focused on life sciences and medicine. Current titles include: PLoS Biology, PLoS Clinical Trials, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases, PLoS Pathogens.
Web Sites
Biology Online
Offers a biology forum, biology dictionary, biology tutorials, and links to useful biology web sites.
The Biology Project
Contains online tutorials for learning biology. Covers biochemistry, cell biology, immunology, molecular biology, and more.
Biosciences: The WWW Virtual Library
Covering biology information from animal health to biotechnology to genetics to neurobiology, this site allows you to either browse its directory or search for a specific topic.
BioWeb
Provides “Cell and Molecular Biology News, Books, Tools and Resources.”
CMS Molecular Biology Resources
Contains links to web sites. dealing with general biochemistry, biotechnology, protein analysis, DNA analysis, and more.
Mammal Species of the World (MSW)
“Contains the names of the 4,629 currently recognized species of mammals, in a taxonomic hierarchy that includes Order, Family, Subfamily, and Genus.”
PubMed Central
Contains articles from approximately 200 biomedical and life sciences journals.
The PubChem Project
This site, part of the National Library of Medicine’s website, provides information on the biological activities of small molecules through three linked databases: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay.
Science.gov: Biology and Nature
Provides links to web sites. (many of which are government web sites.) dealing with topics related to biology and nature.
Species 2000
“Species 2000 has the objective of enumerating all known species of organisms on Earth (animals, plants, fungi and microbes) as the baseline dataset for studies of global biodiversity.” Contains 500,000 species.
Tree of Life
Structured in a hierarchical manner, this site provides information on the evolutionary history and characteristics of organisms.
USDA Plants Database
Provides information about the plants, mosses, and other plant forms located in the US.
Visible Body
Free online fully interactive, 3D human anatomy model.





