Databases
General Research
Literary Reference Center
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. more information
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. more information
Humanities International Complete
Index and abstracts for journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. more information
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities. more information
American Literature
Bibliography of American Literature
A comprehensive bibliographic guide, providing nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the American Revolution to 1930. more information
Early American Fiction
440 novels and short stories of 80 American writers, 1774-1850. more information
British Literature
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920-1997
Index to books, articles, reviews, collections, and dissertations in English studies. more information
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare
Full text of 11 major editions of Shakespeare's works, and related works. more information
Eighteenth Century Fiction
Full text of 96 works of prose fiction written in the British Isles, 1700-1780. more information
English Prose Drama
Full text of over 1800 plays written in prose for the stage, from the Renaissance to the end of the 19th century. more information
English Verse Drama
Full text of over 2200 works of poetry intended for the stage. more information
William Butler Yeats Collection
The complete work of William Butler Yeats. more information
Poetry
African-American Poetry 1760-1900
3000 poems by African-American poets in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. more information
20th Century African-American Poetry
12,000 poems and with biographical profiles by more than 100 African-American poets. more information
American Poetry 1600-1900
40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. more information
20th Century American Poetry
Over 52,000 works from more than 316 poets. more information
English Poetry 600-1900
More than 175,000 poems by over 1,400 poets from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, 600-1900. more information
20th Century English Poetry
Over 44,000 poems by 288 poets. more information
Oxford Reference, Literature
Full text reference books on Literature. Titles include: The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Oxford Companion to American Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to Classical Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to English Literature, The Oxford Companion to English Literature,
The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, A Dictionary of Shakespeare, The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare, The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature, The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature, and, A Dictionary of Writers and their Works. more information
The Columbia Granger’s Index to Poetry in Anthologies (REF PN 4321. G8)
Provides a means by which to located poetry that has been published in anthologies. You can search by title, first line, last line, author, or subject.
General English Reference
Oxford English Dictionary
Full text historical dictionary of the English language. more information
Oxford Reference, English Dictionaries and Thesauruses
Full text English language dictionaries and thesauruses. Titles include: The New Oxford American Dictionary, The Oxford American Dictionary of Current English, The Concise Oxford English Dictionary, The Oxford Dictionary of English, The Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English, and The Oxford Paperback Thesaurus. more information
Oxford Reference, English Language
Full text reference books on the English language. Titles include: International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, The Oxford Dictionary of Abbreviations, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology, The Oxford Dictionary of English Grammar, Concise Oxford Companion to the English Language, A New Dictionary of Eponyms, The Oxford Essential Dictionary of Foreign Terms in English, The Oxford Dictionary of Idioms, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics, The Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs, The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style, and the Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage. more information
Oxford Reference, Quotations
Full text dictionaries of quotations. Titles include: The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Quotations The Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, and The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Quotations. more information
Journals
Library has a current print subscription to...
College English v.11 (1949) to present
Editor & Publisher current three years
Full text titles you can read online...
College English (On-campus access (1997) to present
Editor & Publisher (1994 to present)
Browse additional titles in the Electronic Journal Center
Language and Literature title list
Web Sites
American Heritage® Book of English Usage
With a detailed look at grammar, style, diction, word formation, gender, social groups and scientific forms, this valuable reference work is ideal for students, writers, academicians and anybody concerned about proper writing style.
English Literature on the Web
This is an index of web pages devoted to several hundred English and Irish Authors and arranged chronological by author's birth starting from 500 A.D. to the present. This list is preceded by current submissions of English and Irish author related sites.
Literary Resources on the Net
This set of pages is a collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature, excluding most single electronic texts, and is limited to collections of information useful to academics — I've excluded most poetry journals, for instance.
Luminarium
For dozens, if not hundreds of major writers, poets and important English literary figures, who lived and worked in the 17th century or in the Renaissance or Medieval periods, you will find the following types of information: Quotes; Biographical Information; Indexes/Access to digitized full-text works; a number of works rendered in audio; relevant Essays/Articles (about or by); relevant Images; and Additional Resources.
On-line Writing Lab at Purdue University
Excellent resource for topics such as commas, resumes, formats (such as MLA or APA) for citing sources, non-sexist language, and other information about writing well. You can also find useful links to sources of information for your research papers and other writing.
Other Women's Voices
Contains full text and excerpts from over 125 women writers who wrote before 1700 A.D. in Europe, Asia, and the Middle East.
Poetry Archive
Archive of audio recordings containing poets reading their own work.
Poets.org
Excellent poetry resource containing hundreds of essays relating to poetry, biographies of more than 500 poets, nearly 2000 poems, and over 150 audio clips of poems.
Shakespeare Searched
Search engine that allows you to quickly find words in Shakespeare's plays and sonnets.





