Databases
Research Databases
America: History and Life
Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada. more information
Historical Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada). more information
JSTOR
Full-text of over 50 history journals.
JSTOR uses a 3-5 year "moving wall" of available content. This means that all articles from volume 1, issue 1 for a title will be available up to 3 or 5 years ago. Use the Journal Finder to determine if we have access to the most recent articles. more information
Advanced Research Databases
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (ISI Web of Science)
Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities. more information
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents covering native North American culture, history, and life. more information
Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) | off-campus access
Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe. more information
Historical Statistics of the United States
Quantitative facts of American history. more information
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine | off-campus access
Index to journal articles, books, proceedings, and other literature in the history of science, technology and medicine, and allied historical fields. more information
Digital Media Databases
American Periodicals Series Online | off-campus access
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. more information
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress is a collection of 25 newspapers printed from 1900-1910. more information
HarpWeek
Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods. more information
Historic and Archival Digital Media
Pictures and archives from Ohio history, contributed by Ohio museums and libraries. more information
Historic Government Publications from World War II
Collection of digitized documents released by the government during World War II. more information
World War II Military Situation Maps
The World War II Military Situation Maps contains 416 maps and 115 reports showing troop positions beginning on June 6, 1944 to July 26, 1945. Starting with the D-Day Invasion, the maps give daily details on the military campaigns in Western Europe, showing the progress of the Allied Forces as they push towards Germany.
Oxford Reference: History
Full text reference books on History. Titles include: The Oxford Companion to American Military History, The Oxford Companion to Australian History, A Dictionary of British History, The Oxford Companion to British History, The Oxford Companion to Canadian History, A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, Dynasties of the World, The Kings and Queens of Britain, The Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History, The Oxford Companion to Military History, The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science, A Dictionary of Political Biography, Who's Who in the Twentieth Century, The Oxford Companion to United States History, The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military, A Dictionary of World History, and The Oxford Companion to World War II. more information
Journals
Library has a current print subscription to...
American Historical Review v.55 (1949) to present
Bend of the River v.17 (1988) to present
History Today v.14 (1964) to present
Inland Seas v.34 (1978) to present
Northwest Ohio History v.75 (2003) to present
Ohio History v. 71 (1962) to v.111 (2002); v.114 (2007) to present
Timeline : a Publication of the Ohio Historical Society v.1 (1984) to present
Full text titles you can read online...
American Historical Review (1975 to 12 months ago)
History Today (1972 to present)
Ohio History (1887 to 2004)
Ohio History (2008 to present)
Browse additional titles in the Electronic Journal Center
History title list
Humanities title list
Historical Newspapers
Chronicling America
This Chronicling America site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
New York Times
The Library has the New York Times from 1890 to 2002 on microfilm. Use the New York Times Index to find articles published prior to 1969. Take a look at the Using the New York Times Index and New York Times on Microfilm guide for more information.
Web Sites
Ancient and Classical Cultures
Contains links to websites containing information about ancient and classical cultures, including Aztecs, China, Incas, North American prehistory, South America, and more.
Best of History Web Sites
Contains links to over 1,000 web sites that have been evaluated and are considered to be among the best history web sites. For each web site, there is an annotation describing the site.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Over 22,000 digitized historical maps of North American and South America from the 18th and 19th century.
History Guide NG
Contains links to history web sites in multiple languages. Browse by region, time period, or subject era. Also has a quick search and an advanced search option.
Historical Text Archive
Contains over 600 articles, over 60 ebooks, and links to almost 6,000 web sites dealing with a wide range of topics within the discipline of history. Emphasis is on primary sources.
History on the web
Portal site for websites dealing with history arranged by region and subject. Provides brief descriptions for each site.
Internet Modern History Sourcebook
The Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as in modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.
Librarians' Index to the Internet: History
Browse or search this librarian-created web directory of history web sites.
World Wide Web Virtual Library – History
Contains links to a wide range of history sites on the web. Browse by topic, continent, era, or research methods or search for keywords.





