It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database A-Z List: N
This guide contains a list of our research resources organized alphabetically by name.
Search, browse, and download digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation; includes broadsheets, letters, speeches, and photos.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center Digital Images is a collection of digital documents related to slavery, abolition, and emancipation. The collection includes abolitionist broadsheets, photographs by Matthew Brady, letters and speeches of President Lincoln and other presidents, and other historic letters, documents, and pictures.
The original documents are found in the Gilder Lehrman Collection of the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. The digital images were made available through the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.
Search and read Letters on American Slavery  and Portraiture of Domestic Slavery .
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center E-Books are two historical books on slavery, from the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center. These books are now housed in the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center:
Letters on American Slavery , by John Rankin, 1793-1886.
A Portraiture of Domestic Slavery , by Jesse Torrey, fl. 1787-1834.
Search and read conventional, herbal, and alternative therapies articles. Also includes drug-herb and drug-supplement interactions.
Natural & Alternative Treatments contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.
The articles contained in the database are based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. At present, more than 12,000 such studies are cited in the material, and new studies are added regularly. The evidence-based content has been developed and reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists with the goal of providing consumers with reliable information.
Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Search and read regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
Newspaper Source provides full text for 185 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selective full text for 392 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.