Pilgrim Library: Exercise Science Research Guide: Pre-Professional

This page provides resources to those interested in pre-professional exercise-related studies, including pre-athletic training, pre-occupational therapy, & pre-physical therapy.

Databases to Get Started

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search health science and medical articles. Read articles you find by clicking Find It button.
PubMed comprises approximately 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
CINAHL (Nursing, Allied Health, Consumer Health) Plus This link opens in a new window
Search and read nursing and allied health articles.
CINAHL provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL Plus with Full Text covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheet. Searchable cited references for many journals are also included. CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text 337 of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines.
SPORTDiscus provides indexing and abstracting of articles and other publications on sport, fitness and related disciplines, with more than 240 full text journals. SPORTDiscus with Full Text offers international coverage of journal and magazine articles; books and book chapters; conference proceedings; and dissertations and theses.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text covers sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, officiating, sport law & legislation, college & university sport, disabled persons, facility design & management, intramural & school sport, doping, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Search and read consumer health and wellness articles.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of consumer health information. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 300 consumer health periodicals, plus indexing and abstracts for over 300 periodicals. Also included is searchable full text for nearly 1,100 health-related pamphlets; 136 health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society, and more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish). In addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new drugs. Health Source provides access to Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. This database covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, women's health, etc. Many full text titles are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1985.
MEDLINE (with full text) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index for medical journals and provides full text for more than 1,370 journals

Pre-Professional Journals

Journal of Professional Exercise Physiology
This journal is available from 2003 to present online. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also click on the "Search within this publication" link to search by keyword within this journal.
PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal
This journal is available from 1995 to present online. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also click on the "Search within this publication" link to search by keyword within this journal.
Physiotherapy Therapy & Practice
This journal is available from 1999 to present online. Full-text articles have a 15-month delay. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also click on the "Search within this publication" link to search by keyword within this journal.
Clinical Rehabilitation
This journal is available from 1987 to present online. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also use the "Search Within this Journal" search box to search by keyword within this journal.
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy
This journal is available from 1965 to present online. selective articles are available back to 1980. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also click on the "Search within this publication" link to search by keyword within this journal.
International Journal of Athletic Therapy & Training
This journal is available from 1996 to present online. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also click on the "Search within this publication" link to search by keyword within this journal.
American Journal of Sports Medicine
This journal is available from 1976 to present online. Click on the link above, and then select a year that interests you. You can also use the "Search Within this Journal" search box to search by keyword within this journal.