Skip to main content

Finding Primary Sources: Asia

Introduction to primary sources and where to go to find them.

Open Access Primary Sources

ASIA

Japan Center for Asian Historical Records JACAR is a digital database testifying to Japan's historical relations in Asia as well as elsewhere. This site provides access to official documents - dating from the Meiji era through 1945 - of the Japanese Cabinet, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, as well as the Army and Navy. 

Scripta Sinica  The Scripta Sinica is the largest Chinese full text database to encompass an enormous breadth of historical materials of this scale. Hundreds of titles pertaining to the traditional Chinese classics have been included in the database and have been categorized with meticulous care. The Scripta Sinica database contains almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.

RUSSIAN REVOLUTION


Internet Modern History Sourcebook
This site forms one of the three "parent" sourcebooks of the Internet History Sourcebooks which are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts compiled under the direction of Paul Halsall of Fordham University. One of the many sub-sourcebooks of this site deals specifically with the Russian Revolution.


Soviet History/Marxist History/Marxist Internet Archive
This excellent web page of the larger site “Marxist History” includes links to information concerning the Soviet state and Russian Revolution as well as to the full text archive of significant Marxist writers.


Yahoo - History - Russian Revolution
Particularly useful for tracking down sites with primary sources. Its hierarchical arrangement is as close to a library as one gets on the web

Credit

This page is used with the permission of its creator, Ed Oetting from Arizona State University Libraries.