Skip to main content

E-Book access for Defiance College: Overview

Overview

Image result for ebooksThe best way to access e-books, which Defiance College students, faculty and staff have a license to view, is through Jacket Search or the Library's catalog.  

In the catalog:

  • Type in a keyword or subject search on your topic, then use the drop-down menu labeled "material type" and select "ebook" from the list, before clicking on "Search."  
  • Or, just do a regular catalog search, and look for the "ebook" icon on the left side of the list of hits you retrieve.
    • With either method, limit the search to Defiance only using the drop-down menu, or else you may retrieve books Defiance users don't have a license to access.

When you try to access the ebooks from either method while off-campus, you will be asked to validate, using your name and barcode from your DC ID card.

In Jacket Search,

  • Enter your search in the box. 
  • You can look for e-book icons to the left of each citation, or,
  • In the "Source Types" section of the left-hand column, click on "show more" and then choose "eBooks" to eliminate the other formats

If you prefer, you can access some ebook vendors directly without going through the catalog.  The sections below are organized by ebook vendor and offer information specific to that vendor's products.

If you have questions or problems, contact a librarian via the chat box on the library's home page, contact a staff member directly from the list on this page, or call the main desk at 419-783-2481.

ACLS Humanities Ebook

An online collection of approximately 4,300 books of high quality in the humanities – from the American Council of Learned Societies.

  • Click here to go directly to ACLS Humanities
  • ​Saving/downloading: 10-page PDF excerpts.
  • Printing: 10-page PDF excerpts.
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

American & English Literature

American and English Literature from ProQuest contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose based on books and other sources originally published in print. It also contains 21 historic editions of the Bible in English, and different versions of Shakespeare.

Access through Defiance's catalog, or else click here to go to the database directly.

  • Platform: OhioLINK Electronic Book Center
  • Saving/downloading: yes, click on Print View.
  • Printing: yes, click on Print View.
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited

EBSCO eBook Collection

From EBSCOhost, this collection includes more than 150,000 ebooks from a broad spectrum of academic subjects.  

  • Click here to jump directly to the EBSCO eBook Collection.

  • Saving/downloading:
    • Pages – when viewing PDF, save limited number of pages, depending on publisher/title.
    • Book – to your folder with free Ebsco account.
    • Book – checkout and download offline (for checkout period).
      • For the latter, will need to download Adobe Digital Editions, create free Adobe ID, and create free Ebsco account.
  • Printing: Pages – when viewing PDF, save then print limited number of pages, depending on publisher/title.

  • Simultaneous access: most books are unlimited; some may have more limited access, for example, one or four concurrent users. Check the detailed record for this information.

  • Capability to underline, annotate, etc.:

    • Create notes with free Ebsco account.

    • If saved pages are emailed to Kindle (and converted to Kindle format), options such as highlighting, notes, bookmarks are available.

Reference books

Wiley Online Library

A collection of titles from the sciences, social science, and humanities with publication dates from 2012-2014.

  • Click here to access: Wiley 

  • Platform: will open in the Wiley Online Library on the Wiley website.

  • Saving/downloading:
    • Save books and chapters to your profile after setting up a free account.
    • Download by chapter as PDF.
  • Printing: by chapter as PDF.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

University Press Scholarship Online

A collection of university press ebooks with publication dates from 2013-2017, including University of California Press, University of Chicago Press, MIT Press, NYU, and Yale University Press.

Oxford Reference

From Oxford University Press, Oxford Reference provides access to more than 250 reference sources, including encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide array of subjects.

Oxford Scholarship Online

From Oxford University Press, Oxford Scholarship Online provides access to more than 11,000 titles from a wide range of subject areas.  

  • Click here to jump directly to the page:  Oxford Scholarship Online.
  • Printing: individual chapters. Click on print icon, or View PDF.

  • Saving/downloading:

    • Individual chapters to My Work space (free personal account needed).

    • To save individual chapters to computer, click on View PDF.

  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Safari Books Online

A collection of titles in computer science, information technology and related fields.  Be aware that the titles in this collection change frequently.  

Access through OhioLink's Electronic Books Center.  Look on the left of the page and click on "Safari Books Online."

  • Platform: Safari Books Online website.

  • Saving/downloading: no.

  • Printing: individual pages.

  • Simultaneous access: 100 simultaneous users for the whole OhioLink consortium.

Springer

A collection of thousands of scientific, technological, and medical titles.

  • Access directly through Springer Link

    • When browsing or searching, uncheck the box at top left: Include Preview-Only content. NOTE: as you browse or search, you may need to uncheck more than once.

  • Saving/downloading:
    • EBC: yes, click on Print View.
    • SpringerLink: yes.
  • Printing:
    • EBC: yes, click on Print View.
    • SpringerLink: yes.
  • Simultaneous access: unlimited.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations

The Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center is a free, online database of Ohio's undergraduate, masters and doctoral theses and dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.  Click here to access.

Credits

In constructing this guide, a number of other library websites and guides were consulted. The list below is not necessarily comprehensive:

  • Muskingum University Library
  • Pontifical College Josephinum Library
  • University of Findlay Library
  • Walsh University Library
  • Wright State University Library

- created by -

Barb Sedlock would like to thank the library staff at Bluffton University, who granted permission to adapt their guide originally created by Paul L. Weaver.