Note punctuation differences following containers. Containers are followed by a comma.
Indicate volume with "vol."| number with "no."| pages with "pp."
"If an issue of a scholarly journal is dated with a month or season, the month or season is now always cited along with the year" (45). Capitalize seasons in lists of Works Cited.
Since EbscoHost allows users to search multiple Ebsco databases at once, you may replace the specific database name with "EbscoHost" when you don't know which database provided access.
Do not include the word "Web."
Use permanent links, stable URLs, or DOIs in citations. Use a Digital Object Identifier (doi) in place of a URL wherever possible.
Including date of access for online sources is optional, but it becomes "crucial if the source provides no information specifying when it was produced or published" (53). OWL includes the accessed date.
MLA Handbook. 8th ed., Modern Language Association of America, 2016.
ELECTRONIC: Scholarly Journal Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. "Source." Container 1, volume
number (vol.), issue number (no.), Month or Season, Year, pp.
Container 2, DOI or permalink. Accessed date.
Including a database name before the URL or DOI is optional. (See "New Formatting.")Including a date of access is also optional. Check with your instructor. Abbreviate all months except May, June, and July to the first three letters and a period: Jan. Feb. Mar. Apr. Aug. Sep. Oct. Nov. Dec.
With database name
Fetters, Cassandra. "The Continual Search for Sisterhood: Narcissim, Projection,
and Intersubjective Disruptions in Toni Morrison's Sula and Feminist