Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
LINKS TO OTHER SITES WITH FREE RESOURCES
OPEN ACCESS COLLECTIONS
Provides course materials designed to strengthen learning using open educational resources (OER) in order to increase student success.
Consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material.
A digital commons of OER course content including textbooks, videos, labs, illustrations, assessments, students guides and more.
Part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
First fully open access journal created to empower researchers to make science immediately and publicly available online, without restrictions. PLOS is a nonprofit publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
Find the perfect book for your purposes and discover new ones that interest you.
JSTOR Open Access Books
More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
Rice University's OER collection with a mission to give every student the tools they need to be successful in the classroom.
Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.
Journals & eBooks
Hathi Trust Digital Library
a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
Is a sustainable market where scholarly books and journals are freely accessible for each and every reader around the world.
Open Access on Project Muse
Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
Open access ejournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.
The open access publishing arm of the University of Technology Sydney (UTS) which seeks to remove barriers to knowledge by freely disseminating high quality scholarly works.
Copyright & Fair Use
- All copyrighted content is posted only within your specific Moodle course page and properly attributed to author/publisher
- The content is only available for use by students within your specific classroom(s)
- The content must not be shared or distributed beyond the classroom by any individual, faculty or student users
- The content can only be posted for the length of the course and must be removed once the course has ended
- That students are aware of these parameters placed on the content provided
Click the purple "Ask Us" side tab above